One of the first factors to consider after a car accident occurs is determining whether the accident should be reported or not. According to Oklahoma law, a driver is required to report their accident if it results in the injury or death of a passenger or pedestrian. If the damages that resulted from the accident go above $300 and no settlement is reached, the collision needs to be reported to the Department of Public Safety.
Drivers must make sure they report their accident to the relevant authorities on time. The longer they take to report the accident, the more chances they have of not being able to get the proper compensation to help them pay for the damages they incurred as a result of the collision.
Right after getting into a serious car accident, a driver should make sure their health and the health of those around them is their utmost priority. They should make sure to get to a safe location if it is dangerous to remain in the vehicle and they should check all passengers for potential injuries. Even if there are no obvious injuries, but the impact was severe enough, they should call the ambulance to get everyone to the nearest hospital to get checked up properly by a medical professional.
If the vehicles are obstructing traffic and they are very damaged, then the police should be contacted as well. Individuals should also make sure to take this time to contact an accident lawyer and get their advice on what they should say to the other drivers, police officers, and most importantly, their insurance company. It is not recommended to contact one’s insurance company before speaking with a lawyer who can equip a person with the knowledge that they need to ensure they get compensated properly.
An attorney can claim a settlement from the insurer, and after going back and forth and trying to negotiate a fair amount, a person will be able to finalize and use their compensation to help them cover the damages they faced due to the collision with the other driver.
Do I need car insurance in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, drivers are always required to carry a certain amount of car insurance. All motorists must carry at least $25,000 for the injury or death of a person, they must also carry at least $50,000 for the injury or death of two or more people and $25,000 for the destruction of property in an accident.
If it is determined that a person did not have the appropriate amount of insurance coverage at the time of the collision, they may have to face legal penalties. Getting in touch with a lawyer is the best course of action to take for uninsured drivers who get into a collision because an attorney can help them understand what options they have to try to arrange for compensation and to help them avoid getting seriously penalized by the law for their failure to follow legal protocol.
Call Us: 800-672-3103